Why am I doing this?

Why am I doing this?

As many bloggers do, I feel like now is the time for me to share some of my observations, my experiences and my gifts with others that enjoy a number of creative ventures and to explore art in their world.

At the root of all of this is my love for a particular place, one which has inspired me to seek out sculptures and the ways in which they interact with the natural world, and my life goal of opening a similar outdoor space where sculptors and those who want to learn, create and share their love of art can connect and explore sculpture together. The place where this dream began is Franconia Sculpture Park in Shafer, Minnesota.

If you know me, you’ve heard about or seen photos of Franconia. If you are someone who is close to me and I that I love, I have taken you to Franconia. There’s just something about the location, the intermingling of artwork and nature that touches you. The ever changing landscape of various artists’ sculptures and the changing of the seasons, and yet there are always a few sculptures which remain from visit to visit. There are hands on activities such as the Hot Metal Pour and Kids Make Sculpture, plus chances to talk with the artists year round. Even though I lived around two hours south of the park, I would visit an average of four times a year. If you’re visiting Minnesota, it’s well worth a visit.

As much as I love Franconia, I’ve recently moved to England. So now I’m looking forward to exploring the places and the artwork which is available to see here. A part of my blog will be dedicated to these adventures and the ways in which my dream is shaped by these experiences.

In addition to being a sculpture enthusiast, I am a knitter, a crocheter, a new sewist, and an artist. I plan on sharing what I’m working on as a part of this page as well. I hope you’ve enjoyed my first post and I’m looking forward to connecting with others along the way!

Leave a Reply

