Warm weather planning begins

The other day on Facebook, I was reminded at this time two years ago I was busy planning another trip to England. The goal of this one was to see outdoor sculpture parks and trails in the UK. Admittedly, I only made it to parts of England but I’m looking to change that in theĀ  future. Here was the itinerary for my trip:

10950729_1530939570500181_371297292624312720_n

Yep, this trip seemed insane to do in a mere eight days but I did eventually complete it in August 2015 with a friend. The only downside, was due to getting lost I was unable to see the Forest of Dean Sculpture Trail in Gloucestershire. It opened my eyes to some of the outdoor sculpture that exists in the UK. I wanto see these parks again but I also want to explore more outdoor sculpture (and a bit of indoor sculpture as well) throughout the UK and that’s where my planning for this year begins.

I figured it would be realistic to start with parks and trails which are closer to where I live in Surrey. So far I’ve found The Sculpture Park, The Hannah Peschar Sculpture Garden and CASS Sculpture Foundation. Each of them would be easy enough to see on a day out on the motorcycle.

If this year allows for a road trip, I’d love to go see some of the numerous sculpture parks and gardens along the south and southwest coast of England and down to Cornwall. I’m also aching to go back to Yorkshire Sculpture ParkĀ  which I would enjoy in either Summer or Winter really, as I miss seeing snow being from Minnesota in the North of the United States. What other sculpture parks would you suggest I check out in the UK? What about in Europe?

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pauline Y says:

    How embarassing! I’m from UK, and actually used to live in Surrey, but never heard of these places. They look really interesting. Thanks.

    Like

    1. punknpurls says:

      You’re welcome and I think it’s partly because I’m not from the UK that I search out new places. I’m sure the same could be said for places in Minnesota where I’m from. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

